top of page

BlackPRIDE -hiding love- & photos from PRIDE-NYC


"Pride is everyone being free." -@tyanateat

My latest goal? To post content in a more punctual manner *face palm*

While in New York this summer, I accidentally attended my first PRIDE. At times I'm oblivious to what is even going on in the world, so consumed by my own day to day life that I forget to keep up with this planet that never rest.

Hungry, I stepped outside of my dorm to get some lunch, but as I walked through Washington Square Park, I quickly realized that this was not not a regular day in New York (as if regular days exist). There was magic in the air, and I don't mean fairy dust. Magic that was unapologetic, free, and bold.

I thought, "Heck!? When am I going to be back in THE N-Y-C, to capture a moment like this?"

So I returned to my dorm, grabbed my camera, and this is what I got.

Truthfully, I was scared to approach people, and ask them about what pride meant to them. But I told myself to interview at least 20 people, and one person turned two, and two to three, and three to... well you get the point.

I'm glad I stepped out of my box, because after the experience my presumptions about PRIDE changed. PRIDE isn't just about embracing who you are, but for some people it is one day of the year where they don't have to hide-- and that's what got me. Because even though we all hide in tiny ways everyday, I can't imagine what it must feel like to have to hide love.

Love, something which can not be hidden.

Because love escapes as the butterflies that tingle in your chest, when you think of your special someone.

Love escapes as the heat the runs through your body, when you are close to your special someone.

Love escapes as the uncontrollable racing heart beat, when you kiss your special someone.

And yes love is also hard, painful, and forgiving--- but my point is that love can not or rather should not be contained. So in a small way, I learned to emphasize for those who face a different struggle than me.

Amarachi. Ama. Amalive

"Pride is love, acceptance, self love." --@iamjford

"Coming from a small town where racism is blatant and frequent, PRIDE is a Fairytale land where I can escape for one day and know I'm not the only one" ---@_azaonline

(all social media's are instagram accounts unless otherwise noted)

"Pride is visibility."--@nikailaaaaa

"Pride is community."--@khenthegem

"Pride is LIT AS FUCK."

"Pride is FINGERWAVESSSSSS"

"Pride is life and love. It is being happy with who you are." --@renaes_world

"Pride is celebration, overcoming obstacles." --twitta: @INDIASZN

"Pride is self love." -- insta: @goddessunk // twitta: @miss_unk

"Pride is about trans men and women being able to come together."--insta: @aesin_ // twitta: @andro.flux

(you guys should check out @aesin's poetry, it's powerful.)

"I came from a religious family, my dad was a pastor. I'm fortunate enough that my father accepts me, but Pride is a space where I don't have to worry."

"Pride is freedom."

"Pride is about acceptance." --@rsvp.911

"Pride is life. Pride is living. Pride is me." --@bitesizediamond

Thank you to everyone who allowed me to take their picture and took the time to speak with me. If you were featured and your social media handle isn't next to your photo don't hesitate to contact me.


bottom of page