top of page

A Hint of Color


If you looked through my closet you would be inundated by a series of neutral tones, basic tops, and calm hues of pink; but other than that bright colors aren't really my thing. I like basics because they go with anything. However, after a while they can get kind of boring.

I decided to challenge myself by adding just a "hint" of color to this look. I usually stray away from outfits like this, because the vibrant colors automatically serves as an attention grabber, and if styled incorrectly it can grab the wrong kind of attention, but life is to short to worry about what others think.

null

Do you ever put on an outfit only to find yourself questioning whether or not people will look at you sideways because you're doing "too much" or maybe it's "too out there." You quickly turn back to your closet and find refuge in a basic top and some jeans. You grab your jacket and just go on with your day. Well, I have done that many times. Quietly tucking a piece of myself back into the closet, because I didn't want to look weird.

Arguably, that might sound dramatic, but I think it could also be argued that how we dress is a reflection of who we are or if nothing else who we want to be. So by putting a piece of ourselves away to appease others we in a sense give up a piece of our individuality, a silent expression of who we are.

At the end of the day, as long as YOU are happy with the way YOU look, you shouldn't care what others think. Sometimes by unapologetically being yourself, you inspire others to do the same. So, go ahead. Put on that outfit you've being doubting for a while.

Amarachi. Ama. Amalive

 

Bralet: Forever 21

Tube Top: Thrifted

Jacket: Thrifted

Skirt: American Apparel

Jellies (Shoes): American Apparel

Chocker: Shoelace from American Apparel

📷 // Ogechi Ngwakwe (Twitter: @ogechhi)

📷 // Desteny Edwards (Twitter: @dmae_98)


bottom of page