top of page

|Costa Rica | From Bean to Bar | Learning to Make Chocolate from Scratch | La Casa del Cacao


I'm just going to start off by saying that you have not had real chocolate - scratch that- you have not EXPERIENCED real chocolate until you've visited La Casa del Cacao.

During my first day in Costa Rica, a few friends and I decided to connect with the country in the most powerful way we knew how- through our stomachs.

La Casa del Cacao is located in San Jose. (About a 10-15min walk from our hostel for reference). For one magical hour we were enlightened on how a small Cacao bean turns into the lovely chocolate bar you see above. During each step we were surrounded by the alluring smell of freshly crushed cacao beans. The aroma was alluring, the aesthetic rustic, and the chocolate samples had me on the verge of tears- (yes I've cried over delicious food before).

For anyone traveling to San Jose, I would 10/10 suggest checking out this experience. Cedric the owner, leads the class with humor and poise. It is a fun thing to do with a group of friends, everyone of my friend's left with a smile on their face. And, most importantly, the flavor will not disappoint.

Amarachi. Ama. Amalive


bottom of page