top of page

How I raised $6000 in Two Months to Pay for My Summer in New York.



Last summer, I participated in the African Diaspora Department Domestic Study Abroad in New York. Through the program, I spent one month conducting an independent research project on Gentrification in Brooklyn. After that, I moved to the Bronx, and for one month, I volunteered as a Class Aide at a tutoring center in Harlem.


The application closed in February.

I got into the program in April (long story).

The trip started in June and cost $6000.


I had two months to raise $6000. Here is how I did it:


1. Determination & Resilience (Priceless)


"The only thing that keeps us from getting what we want is the story we keep telling ourselves about why we can't have it." -- Tony Robinson


There are probably a thousand and one reasons running through your mind about why you can't afford this trip--STOP RIGHT THERE-- you must believe in yourself.


When I realized I had two months to raise $6000, I could have easily quit, but I set my sight on my goal and focused on finding solutions instead of problems.


2. Flexibility (List of Scholarships Included) (~$4500)


My research topic was on how gentrification alters a communities access to healthy food. By integrating a health element to my research topic I was able to apply for funding from my Health certificates program.


Additionally, by volunteering in New York after the program, I was able to count the volunteer program as an internship and apply for funding for students who were doing summer internships.


Long story short! Sometimes you have to do things you don't want to do to get what you want.


These are the scholarships I received:


African Diaspora Studies Financial Aid ~$450 (This was based on my Financial Aid status)


3. Financial Aid (~$1500)


I will not sugar coat it-- receiving financial aid opens the doors to federal grants and increased eligibility to a variety of scholarships.


Students who qualify for financial aid during the normal school year can receive financial aid in the summer if they take at least 6 credit hours. The program offered two three credit hour courses, so I took both, to qualify for financial aid.


However, if you don't receive financial aid there are still a lot of options.


If you are like a majority of people who are middle class, don't qualify for Federal Aid, but still don't have $30,000/yr for school, consider finding a financial advisor who could help your family reposition their assets and possibly quality for financial assistance.

 

There are so many amazing opportunities available for you to experience. Never allow a price tag to intimidate you. If you want something, go get it.


Amarachi. Ama. Amalive


P.S Feel free to message me, if you ever have any questions or need tips on applying for scholarships.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page