top of page

How to Produce Vertical Videos

Let's flip the script, by flipping the screen.


I have been fascinated with vertical video since I saw this music video by Mahalia & Kojey Radical at the start of the year.


When I first saw it, I was confused. I thought to myself, 'They can't do that! They're breaking the rules!'


But I couldn't stop watching. I was mesmerized by the way framing, captions, movement and the intimacy of vertical videos created a new digital experience.


That video planted a seed of curiosity that bloomed into my own journey exploring how to film vertical videos.


When I traveled to Matagorda Island in November 2019, I vlogged my experience in a vertical format.


Inspired by the work being done by BBC Africa, The Washington Post and others, I was interested in creating my own news work.


While on the multimedia team at KUTX, I pitched the idea of integrating vertical video into the stations social media platforms.


I'm at the early stages of my journey with vertical, so I'm creating this blog to document the things learn along the way.



 

Project One


Objective: Produce a video to complement a written new story on a parking study released by the City of Austin


Result:

* The video garnered nearly 2x more views than the stations previous four videos


Process:

* Developed script beforehand to inform shot list for shooting day

* Equipment: Tripod, Canon 5d Mark III (One body), Canon 70-200mm, 16-35mm


Takeaway:

* Examine all equipment before hand, one tripod leg was loose which made filming difficult

* Next time, bring two camera bodies to save time on changing lenses

* Capture dynamic sound bites to make video more interesting

 

Project Two


Objective: Produce brief recap video covering stations annual sing-a-long.


Goal:

* Add interview component so the video can include a story line

* Add captions (aim: to capture viewers attention)


Process:

* Equipment: Monopod, Canon 5d Mark III (Two bodies), Canon 70-200mm, 16-35mm,

* For interviews: H4N Zoon, Condensed Microphone, Canon 5d Mark III, Tripod, Canon 50mm)

* Flipped camera


Takeaways:

* Pay Attention to Details: Make sure the lavaliere mic is hidden under the subjects clothes.

* Be confident: Move tables, reposition chairs, close blinds, ask subjects to adjust their collar-- whatever it is, if you notice it the audience will notice it. Always be respectful, but get the shot.

* Be cognizant of the tense the subject is speaking in. If the video is published after the event the subject should the subject speak in present or past tense?

* What is "it"? Ask your subject to speak in complete sentences that integrate information from your question. Remember to film as if your audience has none of the information you have.

* AUDIO. Make sure to hit the record button.

* AUDIO. Make sure you have all equipment. Recording video and audio on separate devices is challenging. Consider investing in a mic that attaches to the camera and automatically syncs.

* Interviewing in advance made shooting much easier.

* Film vertically by flipping


Result:


I'm proud. This video is more complex and engaging than my first project video. I will be more mindful of audio during my third project.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page