top of page

do you own your craft or does your craft own you? how my passion become my burden.




When looking for photography clients I felt like I was begging people to notice my talents. To encourage people to book with me, I frequently lowballed my prices and offered too much for too little- undervaluing my services before my clients even could.



This thing I loved, capturing images that evoked emotions, had turned into a process I hated. I was constantly in this tunnel of proving my worth to others, instead shaping my craft for myself.



After months of unsuccessful attempts at booking gigs on photography websites, I realized that I had strayed away from the very reason I bought my first camera about a year and a half ago.



I bought a camera because when I scrolled through images on Instagram I was enamored by the technique that photographers used and their ability to shift my energy just by looking at a powerful image.



The framing, the detail, the color scheme; I was hungry to create images of such caliber- but I couldn't because I wasn't investing my energy in creating the type of content I wanted to be recognized for.


If I wanted people to take me seriously, I had take my craft seriously and start valuing my skill-set. I needed to take control of my brand.



I never wanted to take graduation pictures, engagement portraits, or do event photography, yet that is what I am most recognized for. I wanted to shoot fashion and collaborate with stylist and makeup artist. I wanted to turn pieces of clothing into stories, and odd buildings into cinematic settings.



So I had to ask myself, "Amarachi, where do you want to go in photography? What do you want to be known for?" Which led me to planning for my first creative shoot. For the first time I created a vision board, contacted other creative minds, and brought together a group of people to bring a vision to life. 



Have you ever reflected on things you spend your time on and asked yourself if they are leading you towards the life you want in the future? 


I read somewhere once that sometimes a no is simply redirection. Looking back, I think, all of those cancelled photoshoots was God trying to tell me to chase my vision instead of a commission.

First the first time, in a long time photography felt good again. 



I want to create, collaborate, and invest my time in projects that are meaningful to me, and over time I hope that my worth will be evident through my work, and people will see my value for themselves. 

Whatever you decide to do with your one life, function with a purpose, be driven by your passion. 


Amarachi. Ama. Amalive

Check out my new re-branded photography website, APHOTON.

Project Team:

Model: Zion Mpeye

Stylist: Ibukun Oladejo

7 views0 comments
bottom of page