top of page

Lessons I Learned from being a Behind the Scenes Photographer.

Updated: Jul 18, 2019


I applied to be a production assistant, and they gave me a photography position.


Through a friend, I heard about a video series project by BSOM about rising artist and creatives in Austin. I immediately jumped on the opportunity. I revamped my resume, and after a few days I submitted my letter of interest.


In all fairness, when I applied, I had little to no film experience, I had filmed a few videos here and there for friends, but nothing major.


From my resume, it was evident that I was more experienced with photography, but overtime my creative interest had shifted to photojournalism and documentary films. I still loved photography, but the ability to take a mundane moment, transform it with music, editing, and the right b-roll had peaked my interest.


So I applied to be a production assistant. I wanted to learn how a film set worked-- from audio, lighting, equipment choice, to editing. I desired an opportunity to learn and grow.


So what did I learn from the position I didn't apply for?


1. Get your foot in the door.



While, I might not have had the position I anticipated, I was in the perfect environment to learn about everything I want to learn.


At every shoot, I was able to help set up and prepare for interviews. While working on set, I was constantly took mental notes about everything from audio, to equipment, film technique, and even interviewing skills.


I was able to leverage my skill, photography, to position myself in an environment where I could learn by virtue osmosis.


I was able to apply all of the new knowledge to my future projects. After I discovered what film equipment the director used, I filmed Hidden in October, and after I learned how to use external audio equipment, I filmed PANCAKES in November.


Translation:"The acquisition of knowledge is the catalyst of progress. The more that you learn that is applicable to you, the faster you are able to get ahead." -- Paakow Essandoh, Founder and CEO of MIZIZI


2. Help without being asked!


There were several times when the project ran into audio or equipment issues. Although those problems did not pertain to me position, I always took the initiative to help find solutions. My efforts did not go unnoticed! My initiative gained me more respect on the set, and I could tell that people valued my presence more.


Translation: Bring up solutions, not problems!


3. Go the extra mile.




When editing pictures to submit to me producer, I decided to transform some of the edited images into a panoramic image. This image was inspired by Temi Coker (you can learn how to make your own here).


Sure, I could have just sent the pictures in, but I wanted to do more than my assigned task. I wanted to leave a lasting impression that reflected my ability to produce value adding content to the project.


Translation: You can't stand out, if you blend in!


4. Final Thoughts


Overall, I am extremely grateful for the opportunity. Through the experience I was able to make new friends, expand my professional network, and learn a wealth of new skills.


 

Brown States of Mind (BSOM) is a creative agency based in Austin. The agency was founded by artist Adrian Armstrong and Akili Humphrey in June 2017 with a goal of creating platforms and inclusive spaces for creatives of color.



15 views0 comments
bottom of page